Pantheons

Posted on Updated on

apples-323890_1280

You know, the longer I do it, the easier it is for me to get used to the idea of working with deities from two pantheons.

I know that mine is hardly a unique situation, and that there are plenty of pagans that work with gods from two, or three, or more groups of gods. However, I still can’t help but feel as if I’ve reached a personal state of grace.

I enjoy working with the gods. I enjoy the myths from the pantheons. I center everything around Saule, but I also try to make time for the Kemetic deities. This might be one of the benefits to a being a very polytheist pagan- I have a little bit of room within my worldview to insert extra deities.

I’m still trying to make sense of it in my head. I mean, when I first started out as a pagan, I couldn’t imagine trying to worship two pantheons. It didn’t make sense. I felt like the imagery and mythology in the pantheons would conflict with each other.

And they do. However, what I’ve come to realize is that there’s a lot of conflicting imagery in each pantheon by itself. For instance, in the Baltic Pantheon, Menuo’s said to have been married to Saule. At the same time, he’s also said to have competed with Auseklis (god of the morning star) for Saule’s daughters. It seems to have depended on the area that the myth was formed.

There’s no real order to mythology- not really.

And on some level, Saule and Haroeris and Sobek don’t conflict for me. Not on a deep level.

It might help in that I’m not actually trying to blend the practices together. I don’t worship Baltic and Kemetic gods together. In fact, I avoid using the same altar space for both of them. (I actually think Saule prefers it when I give her her own space. She doesn’t seem to  mind sharing with other Baltic gods, but I don’t think she would approve of me throwing a Kemetic god onto the altar with her.)

So. Now you know a little bit more about me. Thanks for reading, and I hope you have a wonderful evening. 🙂

Leave a Reply

